Diaberic – DIABetic ERIC

My life so far as Type 1 Diabetic

Why a Blog?

Why a blog?  I am not really sure, I think mostly for a journey of self healing, a way to get out of the self pity mode, and get it all out.

I have read a lot, from other social sites forums.  It seems to me a lot of negative comments, how hard it is to live constantly with T1D hanging over you.  And all the different things that have to be changed in your life, because of T1D, I fell into a trap of sorts.  About a year after diagnosis, I just wanted everything to go away, I didn’t really care if I lived or died. Other circumstances didn’t help either, a change in my job, my son was in trouble, all kinds of things that I had no control over.  I felt I could not control the dreaded diabetes either, so why try?  I had an A1C of somewhere around 10 or 11 (if you don’t know, that is bad).  I was really tired of being literally sick and tired all the time, so new health insurance, new Doctor, got a new job (one that I am excited about), and my son seems to have a new outlook on his life.

I just want to put in a good word for my endo, and her nurse.  I think they are both great.

Comparably, I am lucky. Most people with T1D are diagnosed much younger than I was.  They have to do what I do for 40, 50 or more years. Not to sound morbid here, when I was diagnosed, more than half my life was already over. I was getting ready for kicking back and just go on until retirement time.  I have already done all the what I consider stupid stuff reserved for youth.  🙂  I remember I was actively trying to lose weight before I found out, and because I ignored the signs for so long, I lost around 60 pounds.  The good part there, is it has not come back, the bad part is I was in really, really bad shape for a couple of months. I still think that I learned too much about how the body works, you know only doctors should know that stuff, but that is good too.

In an effort to keep things positive, I want to retire, and be healthy enough to enjoy it for at least a little while.

Star Date: 2456152.466321

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Comment