Diaberic – DIABetic ERIC

My life so far as Type 1 Diabetic

Facing the Future

The other morning I couldn’t sleep, was up way too early.  With the insomnia, I watched TV, Dobie Gillis was on. This episode,  Dobie is not far from graduating high school, one of the teachers gave his class an assignment on what they expect from the future. The whole show Dobie is wondering what to write his essay about.  The end shows a few students presenting their essays, and how great they were going to be once they were out of high school. Dobie ends up not writing his essay, but his explanation earned him an “A”.  He explained that he did not know where he was going, and how he was going to get there. He gave an example of a robin and her babies.  For several months he watched the robin leave the nest to bring back a worm for the babies. One morning the mother robin left but did not come back with a worm, trying to  teach her baby robins about leaving the nest to make a go of their life on their own and leaving them to fend for themselves. The baby robins reluctantly left one by one, not knowing for sure where they were going and how they were going to make a life for themselves.  The teacher asked Dobie, with no foresight of the future, if he was afraid, Dobie, referred back to the baby robins, saying they didn’t really know then, but they were ready for what ever came along.

I know that having diabetes, puts me at a greater risk for a myriad of other medical complications, shorter life expectancy,  and constant testing, counting carbs, and a whole bunch of insulin injections.  But if I am afraid of that, then I will live in fear and never find peace of mind.  If I dwell on it, then it will never get better.  If I ask why did this happen to me, then I will miss out on doing what I need to to to make the best of what I already have.

Everything happens for a reason, just got to find the good for what happens.

Star Date: 2456156.461459

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Comment

