Diaberic – DIABetic ERIC

My life so far as Type 1 Diabetic

My First JDRF Event

I  went to my first JDRF (Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation)  event this afternoon. I was interested in meeting people who has to deal with the same issues I do.  I was a little disappointed in the event, as it was designed more for children, not adults.  I stayed because there was also representatives from all the companies that I deal with regularly. I was also assured that I would be welcomed.  I did sign up for an advocacy group with the JDRF, and am now on an email list for to call Congressmen and Senators if a new bill is before Congress that deals with Diabetes.  I forgot about that on my Advocacy page, but will post any info that I get here.

I was also told that a representative from a local adult support group would contact me as well.  I am looking forward to that.

My life is all about T1, now, but sometimes I feel I don’t fit in anywhere.  While I felt welcomed and comfortable at the fall carnival, most of the people there that were my age, were parents or someone that has been living with T1 for a lot longer than I have.  But my motto is “Never Give Up”   In a city that has almost 5 million people, I am sure that there are others out there.  I just need to be more involved.

If you are interested in becoming a JDRF Advocate, you can visit their About JDRF Advocacy page .

If you have an adult support group already and in the Alpharetta, Norcross, GA, area, please email me using my form.

Star Date:  2456180.256944

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Comment

