Diaberic – DIABetic ERIC

My life so far as Type 1 Diabetic

Courage

I think that whether you were diagnosed years ago, or just today, every once in a while you need a bit of courage.  Just to get through the day, the next hour, the next minute, or even the next few seconds.  One of my more ominous thoughts is that I will have  T1 the rest of my life, will I always have the resources to get all the supplies that I need for both living and managing my life.  It takes a bit of courage to think positive.

Courage can come from many places.  Sometimes it is just in you, hiding just out of your reach, until you need it.  One of the parts of my treatment is the daily injections of insulin.  When I was in the hospital, I had an IV that had insulin.  After that the nurse was giving me the shots up until the last 2 days.  I was given a video tape to watch and a book on how to do it.  I watched and read, and re-read. The best place to inject was your stomach.  Man, I was worried.  How can anyone do that.   I opted for the second best place, my legs.  I was never able to do it like the “pros” do it.  You know, like throwing a dart.  One, two, three, go.  I probed, found a place that felt like it would not hurt, and slowly pushed the needle in, waited a second, and pushed the plunger down, slowly.  Then quickly out.   I can’t do that in my stomach.  I also read in a lot of blogs and forums, others feel the same way.  Then I got to thinking to the future,  I have to do this 4 or more times a day.  For the rest of my life.  Wow.  More thoughts.  When I am at work, and I need a shot of the juice, I have to pull down my pants to do get a dose.  The only place to do that is in the bathroom.  Would medical personnel give someone a routine shot in a BATHROOM?  I got to give me a shot in the stomach.  It really was that bad, the same method as in the leg, probe, insert needle, slowly plunge, out of there quick.  Not bad, I can do this.   That worked for the bolus, the fast acting insulin for meals, usually a small dose, under 10 units.  The Basel, long acting insulin,  was a different story.  A much bigger dose,  3 times as much as the biggest  bolus.  Those would have to be in the leg, those were given at night, home alone.  Until one day, the probing could not find a spot that did not hurt.  Took a long time to give me a shot that night.  I finally decided, found the courage to do the basel in my stomach.   I needed it, I found a spot on my stomach, on the first probe,  WOW, no different than a bolus.  Preservation of my life caused the courage I needed to “shoot up” in my stomach.  Inner courage, a great thing.

I believe a lot of people, myself included, find courage on DOC – Diabetes Online Community.  I have a few links for some sites on my links page, and on my side bar.  I hear it said many times, “Knowledge is Power”, well I want to change that a little bit.  “Knowledge is Courage” .  If you think about it, courage is power, a power over something that causes you angst.  In my personal diabetes experience, much of my fear about the disease is displaced  by learning, reading about others experiences, how others have overcame some issue or another.  Just knowing that others have faced many similar  issues,  similar questions, and best of all similar victories, you can too.

Learning about how diabetes works, what doesn’t work in your pancreas, what insulin does, what food (specifically carbs), protein, fats, fiber do to your blood sugar, can give you the courage to manage your life or  a loved one’s life.  It can give your the extra “umph”  to reach a little deeper to grab that little bit you didn’t know you had.

If you do something that you think is noteworthy, note it.  Use a blog, a social site, a local group, anywhere, as I believe that you will encourage courage in someone he needs just a bit to get through the next day, hour, minute, or even the next few seconds.  You have the rest of your life to get done. 🙂

Star date:  2456185.513889

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Comment

