Diaberic – DIABetic ERIC

My life so far as Type 1 Diabetic

Juvenile Onset Diabetes

I don’t want to make this a place for me to rant, but I have to say something about this.

I was listening to a news show this morning (22 Sept, 2012) I was getting ready for a visit to see my son, so I really wasn’t watching.  There was a story about school lunches, and how schools were cutting calories in their lunches to help obesity problems in the country.  The discussion turned to how the kids were still hungry after eating lunch.  Some of the pro’s for limiting the calories in the lunches was less junk foods served in favor of healthier choices, teaching about healthier eating, and a couple other points that I don’t remember right now. Another points was a reduction in Juvenile Onset Diabetes.  That is what got to me.  Type 1 Diabetes used to be called that, because most cases were were first diagnosed in people under 20-25 years old. Getting Type 1 Diabetes is not caused by eating improperly.  It is when your pancreas makes very little or no insulin, to allow cells to use sugar(glucose) for energy. It is an auto immune disease, where the antibodies kill beta cells when they are not supposed to.  While not always the case, obesity is more likely the culprit in Type 2 Diabetes. That used to be call ed Adult Onset Diabetes, as older people were more likely to be first diagnosed with this disease. The reporter would have been more accurate by saying Adult Onset Diabetes diagnosed in juveniles or simply Type 2 Diabetes. It is a fact that Type 2 diabetes is found more in younger people.   I had to send an email to the program, I was late leaving to see my son, I was so irritated.

With most television shows, you have to take the information with a grain of salt so to speak.  BUT, many people will take this as true, thus broadening the a misconception of Type 1 Diabetes.  If someone can be fortunate to be diagnosed with a chronic disease, I am, I was diagnosed when I was 50 years old,  I could have had this most of my life. So a mistake like the one the reporter made, really should not bother me like this.  I am thinking though, to all the people watching this, would assume a person who has diabetes, is obese, and that what you eat and how much you eat “causes” all diabetes,  all obese people are diabetic, and if you are of normal body stature, you don’t have a risk of diabetes.  None of that is true.  When you have Type 2 Diabetes, the bodies produces enough insulin, but it it not used efficiently. Or if the body mass becomes excessive, then what insulin is produced is not enough, so that is why obesity is a factor in Type 2.  If you are Type 2, and obese, the severity can be lessened by losing weight. If you are Type 1, and obese,  losing  weight,  will not lessen the severity of diabetes, but  may lessen the severity or possibility of other conditions, but you will still have to inject insulin.

The media needs to start making a distinction, especially when trying to associate obesity or eating improperly, with diabetes.  There needs to be something more said.  A disclaimer, so to speak, that there are 2 main types of diabetes.  One CAN BE diagnosed with an underlying cause of your life style and obesity the other is diagnosed no matter what your life style, or other factors.  We need to be aware of the different types of diabetes, and that many of us have no choice, an no matter what we do, we will always have to count carbs, figure out how much insulin is needed, and inject it.  At least until a cure is found.

I don’t want to leave the impression that I don’t like Type 2’s, or infer that Type 2’s did something to cause their problems.  I don’t know, and I haven’t read enough to make a well informed opinion on that.  What I don’t like, is what I see in news shows, some medical shows and most commercials do not make a distinction when talking about diabetes. Especially when they are talking about nutrition or obesity links to this disease, it is just called Diabetes, or Type 2 Diabetes, and never take time to distinguish or explain a difference between the 2 types.

Enough of my rant,  that you for listening.

star date 2456193.508507

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Juvenile Onset Diabetes

  1. My son was newly diagnosed this year with Type 1 and it is frustrating to hear that misinformation. I am glad that you are talking about the facts of the disease and helping to bring understanding to a disease that baffles me day to day. Much success to you.

Leave a Comment

